Living in a different country…

Living in a different country than that where you were born and raised and where your roots are in doesn’t have to be bad. In fact I quite enjoy living here and love the new life that I’m having now. It allowed me to experience different things, opened my mind and met persons with different ways of thinking and living, among other things.

Of course, I don’t forget from where I came from and the persons who I love and that stayed back there or in some other countries. Some days I feel it more than others. I started to give more value to some things and not to mind about others, to let it go. I think I don’t have to say that I terribly miss some persons, but sometimes it is not only the persons, sometimes I also miss the traditional old good goods and when I find something that reminds me of my country it makes me happy. This feelings I had never experienced them when I was back there.

This weekend I had friends visiting from Portugal and it felt so good… I love to have my friends and family visiting us, it charges the battery for a while, although it also makes me feel a little bit nostalgic when they leave, it is so good to have them around even if it is just for a short period of time. They bring with them good memories and a feeling of being home again.

Around here it starts to feel it is nearly Christmas. It’s Christmas all around and I like it 🙂

DSCF2509 (2a)

The poinsettia is already in her place for Christmas (I have never seen so many as in here), the decorations will be finished during the week (hopefully) and the girls started writing the Christmas cards for their friends in school. This is a lovely tradition here in UK that we didn’t had back in Portugal. It is a lot of work, because we have to do at least 60 cards but I really like doing it with the girls and is also a good way for them to practice their handwriting ;-).

PicMonkey Collage(a)

Receiving letters and parcels is one of the things I like even more then when I was in Portugal. I always loved receiving letters, real ones (not bills!) and when I was younger even had pen pals from all over the world, but now it feels so good to receive e little bit of home thru the mailbox 🙂 Don’t get me wrong, I am not feeling sad or even terrible homesick, I am quite well, just remembering… Maybe the time of the year or my friends visit… or both!

Have a good week 🙂

2 thoughts on “Living in a different country…

Leave a Reply

